Mad World


I am obsessed with lyrics. I love music and the poetry of lyrics always gets me. I am constantly wishing that life came with a soundtrack and I already know what songs I would pick to accompany me throughout the day. As I have been cleaning my house this evening, I have left my iTunes on shuffle and one song has come up that really, really speaks to me.  I am generally a happy person. At times, obnoxiously so. I do like to make other people smile. The lyrics of this song kind of cement why I want to be a social worker. It IS a Mad World out there and people are losing hope. It’s cheesy. And cliche. But, I want to restore hope to people. I want to help show the light into the dark hopelessness that so many of us just live through. I have been there, going through the motions. I am a great actress and I can make people believe I am ok when I am not. But living like that, it’s not healthy. I choose to be happy. I choose to make some good old lemondade!

Mad World from the Donnie Darko Soundtrack and recently covered by the good ol’ kids on The Glee Project! (Which you should watch, it is fantastic. Seriously. Go watch it!)

Check out these lyrics, they are poignant and then go listen to the song. I will embed it here when I figure out how!

All around me are familiar places

worn out places, worn out faces

Bright and early for their daily races.

Going nowhere, going nowhere

Their tears are filling up their glasses

No expression, no expression

Hide my head I want to drown my sorrow

No tomorrow, no tomorrow

And I find it kind of funny

I find it kind of sad.

The dreams in which I am dying 

are the best I have ever had. 

I find it hard to tell you

‘Cause I find it hard to take

When people run in circles

It’s a very, very

Mad World, Mad World

Mad Word, Mad World

Children waiting for the day when they feel good

Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday

Made to feel the way every child should

sit and listen, sit and listen

Went to school and I was very nervous,

no one knew me, no one knew me

Hello teacher tell me what’s my lesson?

See right through me, See right through me

And I find it kind of funny

I find it kind of sad.

The dreams in which I am dying 

are the best I have ever had. 

I find it hard to tell you

‘Cause I find it hard to take

When people run in circles

It’s a very, very

Mad World, Mad World

Mad Word, Mad World

Leave a Reply

  • Visitors!

