“Pregnancy is Unethical?!”:


“Pregnancy is unethical. How can men and women ever be equal if women continue to be subject to pregnancy?”

I am more than a little bit disturbed by this. What are your thoughts? For me, carrying my own child was a labor of love, with a fair amount of hardship, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Your thoughts?

The United Families International Blog

Ann Bailey

Pregnancy is unethical.  Bet you didn’t know that.  Anna Smajdor, an ethicist at the UK’s University of East Anglia, believes that being pregnant for nine months  and then delivering  the child is too risky, painful and socially restrictive to subject women to it any longer.   Dr. Smajdor believes that large junks of public funding should be immediately directed towards the creation of artificial wombs.  She wonders how men and women can ever be equal if women continue to be subject to pregnancy.

Dr. Smajdor is a leading proponent of ectogensis – “the growth process of embryonic tissue placed in an artificial environment,” or an artificial womb.

 “I suggest that there is a strong case for prioritizing research into ectogenesis as an alternative to pregnancy. I conclude by asking the reader the following: if you did not know whether you would be a man or a woman…

View original post 197 more words

Comments
2 Responses to ““Pregnancy is Unethical?!”:”
  1. Asia says:

    Carrying my daughter was hell, delivering her… Exhausting and a bit traumatic for me, but I would have never had it any other way. Fake hair, fake boobs, butts, thighs, calves, muscles, genders … I mean, when will people ever be happy with just being that – a person.

  2. Amanda says:

    Yes. Let’s take the thing that women have that men do not, the thing that is, ultimately, the pinnacle of femininity, and instead of turning it into something to be worshiped, adored, and celebrated (Hello, millenia of human existence? Are you there?) let’s instead turn it into a symbol of female oppression.

    I’m sorry, but I find the very concept of taking pregnancy away from women to be bizarre and counterproductive, whether a serious solution or some kind of hyperbole. I actually hope that the idea here is to be radically bizarre in order to make a point about being accepting of ourselves.

    In case people are ACTUALLY suggesting that pregnancy is what makes women subject to male oppression, might I suggest we focus more on changing how society perceives pregnancy (dangerous, to be avoided, to be fixed, an inconvenience, a liability).

    I’m somewhat offended by this person’s suggestion of unethical-ness. I feel it’s assault on women. And ludicrous.

Leave a Reply

  • Visitors!

