Book Review: Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan


 

Go Read This Book!

Recently I had the impulse to pick up a book titled, Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan when I was aimlessly wandering around the grocery trying to remember what on earth I was missing from my list. I may not have known it at the time, but I was definitely missing this. This book was AMAZING.

I am in the midst of a self-imposed reading challenge for the year 2012 and anyone who knows me knows that I have many “loves” that include travel and humanitarian service. Simply put, if I could pay my bills by giving back to the world and serving both here and abroad, I would sell everything tomorrow and do it. For the time being, I am still waiting for the perfect opportunity for Diva and I but I know it’s out there and I do my best to give back locally. I have had quite a few wonderful experiences off the beaten path and I know that I am destined for more. A book that, from the cover, advertises a memoir of a person who unintentionally changed the world? Sign me up. Yes please.

I don’t want to give away the entire story (because I want you to go read the dang book!) but Mr. Grennan weaves a story through his experiences initially volunteering in Nepal on a lark and how it turned into a calling to rescue and reunite trafficked children with their families. His writing style is honest and frank and interjected with humor while still making you thankful for the blessings afforded to us in this “first world.” If you have traveled in backwoods places at all, you will appreciate how he describes the reluctant traveler learning such graces as “battling with monkeys” and “the rural toilet.” You get to know the children of Little Princes as if they were kids in your own neighborhood. You will laugh, you will cry and you will be inspired. What makes it even better is the reminder that we all can change the world and set into motion events that can snowball. It’s a fast read and you won’t want to put it down. Part travel-journal, part call-to-action, part-educational, all the way worth it. Go take a day or two and learn about these kids and their journey. It will be well worth your time.

If you want to learn more about the NGO that Mr. Grennan established to help rescue children that were victims of Nepal’s human trafficking trade, please check this out: Next Generation Nepal (http://www.nextgenerationnepal.org/index.php)

If you have already read this book, I recommend the following others that are of a similar genre that you might enjoy:
Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson

The Road of Lost Innocence: A True Story of a Cambodian Heroine by Somaly Mam

(More to this list coming, I have to find the right folder that lists my “Books I Love That Inspire” collection!

Peace, love, and Namaste,

Bekah

Comments
3 Responses to “Book Review: Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan”
  1. Sounds like a great book – I like your reading challenge and I’m impressed considering everhing you have going on in your life. You have inspired me on a couple of fronts.

Leave a Reply

  • Visitors!

